Specimen ballot now available in Montgomery County

HILLSBORO — Two statewide races and a statewide referendum are at the top of the November 3, 2020, general election ballot in Montgomery County.

While most races are either chock full of candidates, others are either uncontested or left between the two major political parties. That is unless you’re in County Board District 2.

A Republican district that has gone uncontested since 2008, it has become a district in contention once again. Libertarian Jake Leonard is seeking election to the board against two Republicans — incumbent Gene Miles and newcomer Jim Havera.

Ballot breakdown – statewide and legislative races

Therefore, here is a brief breakdown of the ballot items:

Constitutional Amendment – Eliminate Flat Tax for Progressive Tax: Yes/No

POTUS/VP: Donald Trump/Mike Pence (inc., Republican), Joe Biden/Kamala Harris (Democratic), Howie Hawkins/Angela Walker (Green), Gloria La Riva/Leonard Peltier (PSL), Brian Carroll/Amar Patel (American Solidarity) and Jo Jorgensen/Jeremy “Spike” Cohen (Libertarian)

U.S. Senate: Dick Durbin (inc., Democratic), Mark Curran (Republican), Willie Wilson (WWP), David Black (Green) and Danny Malouf (Libertarian)

U.S. Congress 13th: Rodney Davis (inc., Republican), Betsy Dirksen Londrigan (Democratic)

Illinois House 95th: Avery Bourne (inc. Republican), Chase Wilhelm (Democratic)

Ballot breakdown – Montgomery County county-level races

Circuit Clerk: Holly Lemons (inc., Republican, uncontested)

State’s Attorney: Bryant Hitchings (Democratic), Andrew Affrunti (Republican)

Coroner: Randy Leetham (inc., Republican, uncontested)

Ballot breakdown – Montgomery County Board

All races in 2020 are two-year terms and will be up in 2022 for full terms. Three Republicans are seeking re-election. However, there are also three Democrats who are seeking re-election. A total of 11 county board seats are up; however, there are sixteen candidates on the ballot vying for those seats as a result.

Those races are the following:

D1 (vote 2 – 2 yr term): Connie Beck (inc., Republican), Jeremy Jones (inc., Republican), Rickey Broaddus (Democratic)

D2 (vote 2 – 2 yr term): Gene Miles (inc., Republican), Jim Havera (Republican), Jake Leonard (Libertarian)

D3 (vote 1 – 2 yr term): Doug Donaldson (Republican), Randy Singler (Democratic)

D4 (vote 1 – 2 yr term): Patty Whitworth (Republican), Jim Moore (inc., Democratic)

D5 (vote 2 – 2 yr term): Russell Beason (Republican), Richard Wendel (inc., Democratic)

D6 (vote 1 – 2 yr term): Beverly McCoy (Republican), Paul Sellers (Democratic)

D7 (vote 2 – 2 yr term): Andy Ritchie (Republican), Timothy Fogle (inc., Democratic)

Other races

A Supreme Court race is taking place between Republican David Overstreet and Democrat Judy Cates. This seat is to fill the vacancy left by Judge Lloyd Karmeier. Karmeier would not seek re-election and would opt for retirement at the age of 80 as a result of the vacancy.

A similar race is taking place at the state appellate level following the vacancy created by Melissa Ann Chapman. Republican Mark Boie is facing Democrat Sarah Smith for the vacancy created in October 2019. Chapman would receive an appointment to her position in September 2001. She would retain her seat in 2002 and 2012 as a result. Boie has been an appointed member of the Appellate Court since May 2019.

Retention questions for appellate and circuit court judges are on the ballot as well. Thomas Welch is the appellate court judge seeking retention. Stanley Brandmeyer is seeking retention in the circuit court of the Fourth Circuit. Additionally seeking retention are James Roberts and Martin Siemer.

In the city of Litchfield, a city advisory question is on the ballot. The question asks whether the city should allow the retail sale of recreational cannabis and tax said sales within the city’s corporate limits. A yes vote, in other words, would likely give a clear message to the city as to their final action on the issue. However, a no vote would kill the issue altogether as a result.

Polling changes

As a result of a couple of venue closures due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there are two polling location changes in the county. However, these changes are in the Bois D’Arc and North Litchfield 1 and 4 precincts. Voters in Bois D’Arc will now have to vote at the Knights of Columbus Hall in Farmersville, located at 104 S. East St., as a result. Meanwhile, voters in both North Litchfield precincts will now vote at the First Presbyterian Church at 1908 N. State St.

The full flyer is included below.


For more travel news, follow Ben Cox @Cox4Liberty and Heartland Newsfeed @HLNF_Bulletin on Twitter.

Additionally, you can follow Heartland Newsfeed on Facebook and Reddit among other platforms.

Source link